We have a bevy of cool things that you can get into Thursday night. There’s music, comedy, drama and more music.  Just look at this line-up.

The Contemporary Youth Arts Company will present the new Dan Kehde drama, “The Rack,” at 8 PM. This hard-hitting, highly emotional drama follows the aftermath of a fictional elementary school shooting, as we all struggle to understand “why?” The cast includes Nik Tidquist, Olivia King, Caitlin Moore, Mandy Harper, Patrick Felton, Clayton Spry, Angel Gandee, Eleanor Paybins, Katy Shaver, Siercia O’Brien, Matt Connelly, Rowan Maher and Jeremy Drake. The show opens at The WVSU Capitol Center Theater on Summers Street and runs for the next two weekends (but not Saturday, April 5).


Thursday mainstays, The Third Eye Cabaret and Mojo’s Comedy Open Mic both happen in the evening.  Third Eye Cabaret with Kristen Costello, Jake Book, Sierra Ferrell, Andy Park and the True Lovers kicks off at 8 PM at The Cellar, 8 Capitol Street, like clockwork. It’s a cover-free night of terrific music.  Mojo’s Comedy Open Mic, also cover-free, starts the funny at 9 PM at Mojo’s Sports Bar, behind the Mound in South Charleston.


The Misery Jackals

The Misery Jackals

RFC favorite, Pepper Fandango, opens for The Misery Jackals at The Empty Glass at 10 PM. There is NO COVER CHARGE, but bring extra money so you can buy the band’s merch and tip your bartender.  According to their PR, The Misery Jackals deliver the hillbilly hoedown to modern day punks and old timers alike. Being lovers of punk rock, bluegrass, blues, country, roots, and various forms of ethnic musical styles, they put together a sound that embodies what they’d like to hear. The result is what they call “Pillbilly Browngrass,” “Bluethrash,” or “Dirty Bluegrass.”

One guy said it was the kind of music he wished played in his head all day.The Misery Jackals’ write songs to live by… or rather a roadmap to avoid the common pitfalls of life. Most songs are based on real people and circumstances. They are known to perform their own take on their favorite punk or disco songs. Their live performance is paired nicely with alcoholic beverages and folks who like to dance. A good time is the goal, every time.The ensemble’s lineup consists of the following members: Tim Burrows (Dawghouse Timmy) – contrabass, vocalsBill Corgan (Sweet Willy C.) – banjo, percussion, vocalsJeff Selzer (Beener Nix) – guitar, kazoo, vocalsBen Shuber (Shubes) – accordion, washboardOccasional Appearances by Eric Baltrinic – drums & percussion.”