The PopCulteer
July 9, 2021

Welcome to “overly dramatic headline day, here at PopCult.

Friday brings new episodes of MIRRORBALL and Sydney’s Big Electric Cat to The AIR. The AIR is PopCult’s sister radio station. You can hear these shows on The AIR website, or just click on the embedded player at the top right column of this blog.

Today’s episodes of our AIR Music Specialty programs are musicologist’s delights. Sydney’s Big Electric Cat, for the second time in a row, presents 26 New Wave acts, each representing a letter of the alphabet. I’m informed by Ms. Fileen that she won’t be revisiting this gimmick again unless she can find more New Wave acts whose names start with “Q” or “Z.”

Before we get to New Wave, we have to ploy through Disco, and at 2 PM,  on a new episode of MIRRORBALL, Mel Larch introduces American Audiences to the German/Carribbean group, Boney M, who had a couple of minor hits in the US, but were a phenomenon overseas. This is some amazing music, as the band manages to pull off Disco covers of “No Woman, No Cry” and “In A Gadda Da Vida.” Check out this playlist…


Boney M
“Let It All Be Music”
“Ma Baker”
“New York City”
“Ribbons of Blue”
“No Woman No Cry”
“Take The Heat Off Me”
“Children of Paradies”
“I Feel Good”
“Gadda Da Vida”
“A Woman Can Change A Man”
“Gotta Go Home”
“Bahama Mama”

You can hear MIRRORBALL every Friday at 2 PM,  with replays Sunday at 11 PM, Monday at 9 AM, Tuesday at 1 PM and Wednesday at 7 PM, exclusively on The AIR.

At 3 PM, Sydney Fileen graces us with a second consecutive special mixtape episode of Sydney’s Big Electric Cat based on what she calls a “silly idea” from Nigel Pye, the host of Psychedelic Shack.  In a two-hour mixtape show, Sydney presents 26 New Wave artists, each one with a name starting with a different letter of the alphabet, just like last time. Since she didn’t have room to back-announce every song, she has asked me to include the playlist here so you can see who’s playing what…

BEC 074

ABC “The Look of Love”
Bananarama “Robert DeNiro’s Waiting”
Concrete Blonde “Ghost of a Texas Ladies Man”
DEVO “The Day My Baby Gave Me A Surprise”
Eurythmics “Here Comes The Rain Again”
Falco “Der Kommisar”
Graphic Shadows “Goodbye Libido”
Harlequin “Thinking of You”
Inspectors “Day After Day”
Joy Division “I Remember Nothing”
Klark Kent “Office Talk”
Lost Loved Ones “The Flag”
Moon Martin “Writng On The Wall”
Nena “99 Luftballoons”
Hazel O’Connor “Who Needs It”
Pretenders “Private Life”
Quarterflash “Williams Avenue”
Red Rider “Ships”
Simple Minds “New Gold Dreams (81-82-83-84)”
Tears For Fears “Shout”
The Ultraviolet “Kerry”
VHF “The Peril of Passion”
Wang Chung “Black-Blue-White”
X Ray Spex “Germfree Adolescents”
Yellow Magic Orchestra “Castalia”
Leydon Zar “I Want You Back”

Sydney’s Big Electric Cat is produced at Haversham Recording Institute in London, and can be heard every Friday at 3 PM, with replays Monday at 7 AM, Tuesday at 8 PM, Wednesday at Noon and Thursday at 10 AM, exclusively on The AIR.

That’s what’s on The AIR Friday, and that is this week’s PopCulteer. Check back for fresh content every single freakin’ day.