The PopCulteer
March 4, 2022

There is a lot going on in the world of pop culture this week: AEW Wrestling bought Ring of Honor; AMC Networks announced a new comic book line with celebrity creators; The company that owns Fortnite bought Bandcamp; loads of toy companies announced new action figure lines…it’s an amazing time to be covering cool stuff!

Or at least it would be if I had time to address all those topics. Your humble blogger is buried under what those in the industry call “paying work” and only has time today to tell you about an exciting new episode of Sydney’s Big Electric Cat, debuting on The AIR Friday afternoon.

Sydney Fileen gives us a time capsule of New Wave Music from the pivotal year of 1979 on Sydney’s Big Electric Cat Friday afternoon on The AIR. You can hear this show on The AIR website, or just click on the embedded player at the top right column of this blog if you’re reading on a desktop.

At 3 PM, Sydney Fileen treats us to another mixtape look at a specific year of the New Wave era. This time it’s 1978. This was the year that saw important releases and iconic New Wave hits by The Police, DEVO, M, The Buggles, Toyah, Lene Lovich, The Clash and more.

1979 was the year when New Wave music hit the mainstream and began six years as the dominant force in music. This special mixtape show demonstrates that with a powerhouse collection of some of the most definitive New Wave artists and songs.

Check out the playlist here…

BEC 087 “1979”

Ian Dury & The Blockheads “Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick”
Blondie “One Way Or Another”
Dave Edmunds “Girls Talk”
M “Pop Muzik”
The Buggles “Video Killed The Radio Star”
Madness “One Step Beyond”
The Clash “London Calling”
The Knack “My Sharona”
The Boomtown Rats “I Don’t Like Mondays”
The Cure “Boys Don’t Cry”
Lene Lovich “Lucky Number”
Squeeze “Up The Junction”
Racey “Some Girls”
The Police “Message In A Bottle”
The Flying Lizards “Money”
The Numbers “Hello”
Elvis Costello “Accidents Will Happen”
Talking Heads “Mind”
The Cars “Lust For Kicks”
DEVO “Smart Patrol/Mr. DNA”
The B 52s “Rock Lobster”
Split Enz “I See Red”
The Dickies “Banana Splits Theme”
The Stranglers “The Raven”
Toyah “Danced”
Joe Jackson “Look Sharp”
Joy Division “She’s Lost Control”
Ellen Foley “Night Out”
Stiff Little Fingers “No More Of That”
After The Fire “Laser Love”
XTC “Life Begins At The Hop”

Sydney’s Big Electric Cat is produced at Haversham Recording Institute in London, and can be heard every Friday at 3 PM, with replays Monday at 7 AM, Tuesday at 8 PM, Wednesday at Noon and Thursday at 10 AM, exclusively on The AIR.

And that is it for this week’s PopCulteer.  Your frazzled PopCulteer is nearly wiped out, but we’re still going to give you at least one fresh post every day, because that’s the kind of people we are!